“Family Ties” star Justine Bateman, 48, returns to college for computer science degree

[Permalink]

7 Likes

Wow, that’s great. I’m 44, and I have a high school diploma and maybe three years of Theatre Arts classes at a community college under my belt. Maybe one of these days I’ll go back to school too.

6 Likes

Can’t for the life of me figure if CS111 is some technology/language I’m unaware of or just a course number in which case the sentence makes no sense.

Betting on the latter.

Yeah, I have no doubt it’s Computer Science 111. In one of the blog entries we see in the picture, Bateman mentions trying “to understand some CS111 material,” and in that context it makes sense.

This is very pleasing to me, I can’t put my finger on exactly why.

But going back to college as a grown-up is pretty great. It’s amazing how much more you get out of it when you think of it as, like, a spa treatment you’re paying a shitload for, instead of a place you’re showing up because your parents made you.

6 Likes

From the UCLA course catalog for the computer science department:

111. Operating Systems Principles. (5)
Lecture, four hours; laboratory, two hours; outside study, nine hours. Enforced requisites: courses 32, 33, 35L. Introduction to operating systems design and evaluation. Computer software systems performance, robustness, and functionality. Kernel structure, bootstrapping, input/output (I/O) devices and interrupts. Processes and threads; address spaces, memory management, and virtual memory. Scheduling, synchronization. File systems: layout, performance, robustness. Distributed systems: networking, remote procedure call (RPC), asynchronous RPC, distributed file systems, transactions. Protection and security. Exercises involving applications using, and internals of, real-world operating systems. Letter grading

Five units! Sounds like a challenging class, all right.

1 Like

Isn’t she setting herself up for some serious age discrimination?