Fascinating video of graphic design process in the pre-Photoshop Mad Men era

[Read the post]

5 Likes

That’s how I learned to do it at a JuCo in the mid 90s.

I was in design school in the mid-90s, just as the shift from physical to digital printing was happening; half of my classes involved early versions of Illustrator, Photoshop and Quark while the other half were taught by the “old guard” who taught us how to use rubylith, letraset, and rapidographs (often with a young TA rolling their eyes the whole time). I’m happy that I had a few years of working at the college paper, which still used mechanicals; we’d lay out our type in Quark, print it out in chunks, and paste it onto newsprint-sized graph paper with a thin layer of hot wax.

While I’m nostalgic for the days of Xacto knives and hand-cut lettering, I’m so glad PDFs exist now.

4 Likes

Rubber cement? pros had a hot wax machine!

I graduated from DAA at the University of Cincinnati way back in 1986. I moved out west to be closer to the epicenter of the digital revolution after co-op experience in NYC and Chicago. We did a video for our senior project and it was made with two massive VHS players and a finger on the pause button. Now that was tech by gum!

3 Likes

As a '96 grad from DAAP, I’m a little freaked out by the distinct possibility that you and I may have used the same ancient hot wax machines :slight_smile:

(And by the “old guard” in my previous post, I mean Profs. Salchow, Schenker, Probst, and Bottoni)

1 Like
  1. Dilute your rubber cement 1:1 so it dries quickly and very thin;
  2. Use it to assemble your presentation mock-up;
  3. Pickup all the excess rubber cement of your work;
  4. Stop worrying about the thing coming about apart while it’s sitting in your hot car.

I worked in a design house for a while in the late 70s. There were some amazingly talented crafts-people there.

2 Likes

Robert Probst is now Dean of DAA§