Georgia State University's Radio Station WRAS/album 88 to change formats

Many of you know I’m a grad student @ GSU. I’ve been a resident of GA for most of my life, and GSU’s radio station - Album 88 - has long been an important part of my life since I was a teenager. I know many people who feel the same way. This week the University announced that this important institution for independent music was shifting formats. No longer would it be mostly music - and mostly independent and new artists at that, run by the student body (some of who I have had the pleasure of knowing over the years - Nippon Music Champ and Dead Air, being two of my favorites!) - the local public broadcaster, GPB, will be broadcasting content from 5 am to 7 pm, daily. The staff of the station was told Monday, and they made the announcement on Tuesday I think. The student body was not consulted, despite the fact that we pay for the station out of our fees.

Keep in mind that Album 88 will continue to stream online (which was a new thing as of last year, I think) and from 7 pm to 5 am every day. Plus, we will get a 30 minute weekly music show. The new format will include many NPR and PBI programs, some of which are already broadcast on the other public radio station, WABE.

There is a petition to stop this from happening. I know that many of you value both independent media and independent music and might even be fans of the station:

https://www.change.org/petitions/georgia-state-university-stop-georgia-public-broadcasting-s-takeover-of-iconic-atlanta-college-radio-station-album-88-wras-88-5-fm/sponsors/new

If you’ve never heard the station, go check it out online:

http://www2.gsu.edu/~www885/

My favorite shows now are the Friday shows, from the Ska show to the post-punk show.

Additionally, I plan to write a piece about this on Tropics of Meta on why I think this is BS. I’ll post it here once it’s up on the site.

1 Like

You have my condolences.