In Australia, what may be a 'new' indigenous language has been recorded

[Permalink]

Given the number of languages that are disappearing it’s nice to hear of a previously unknown one coming to light.

I’m no expert, but that doesn’t sound like a new language - more of a creole or pidgin or something. I’m not sure how linguists draw the line, but there must be one.

1 Like

Apologies in advance:

“Come on, baby, Light Walpiri…”

I’m no expert, but I disagree with the experts!

2 Likes

From Wikipedia: “A creole language is a stable, full-fledged language that originated from a pidgin.”

So I guess I’m not sure what you’re actually saying here.

Cool, I didn’t know that. I guess I thought they were more or less the same thing. I guess I meant to say pidgin, but I was afraid it had racist overtones. Creole makes me sound cooler.

I’m no linguist either, but:

When speakers of different languages meet repeatedly as adults they create a pidgin - a smattering of words from one or both, with little or no grammar.

If there are enough children who grow up in a linguistically diminished environment together (such as mostly hearing a pidgin) they will, in one generation, create a fully-fledged language, adding all the necessary grammar, and creating or importing new words. That is a creole language.

Also, we actually have observed children doing this kind of thing – Nicaraguan sign language. In that case the “pidgin” would be each child’s “home signs,” the gestures they used with their families.

2 Likes

The last twenty years have seen significant change in remote Aboriginal communities as the sale of alcohol was banned entirely. As a result of this, there is now less engagement between white and black communities, more independence for aboriginal people, and better health as alcohol dependence is reduced. I think it is possible that this new language is a consequence of these changes.

1 Like

Damn that stuff is interesting, innit?