James Burke on the coming age of scarce scarcity and abundant abundance

[Permalink]

WHOA! Major cool lineup on this episode!

I loved Burkeā€™s two TV series; Connections and The Way the Universe Changed. I donā€™t buy every ā€œconnectionā€ he made, but it showed the complexity of progress.

3 Likes

Still have the entire Connections series on VHS. Remember watching it on the local PBS station every week. I credit that series for hooking me on science more than anything else. To this day I am still fascinated by the unbelievable versatility of carbon black.

3 Likes

Was it Jame Burke who would do little things like set up a shot of a woodland stream and then come stomping into the shot wearing waders?

1 Like

I majored in physics at Canadaā€™s University of Waterloo. Every week we had a non-credit class lovingly known as Donuts 010 (instead of its actual designation, Phys 010). We watched films and, not surprisingly, ate donuts. The films varied but the biggest hit was Burkeā€™s Connections. I watched a bunch of episodes again quite recently and, 30 years later, they are still both educational and compelling.

Legend or not, Iā€™m struggling to accept Burkeā€™s view of an abundant future. Leaving aside whether this fabricator that heā€™s predicating his vision of the future on is even feasible or not, he doesnā€™t address the energy implications of what heā€™s suggesting. Where does he imagine the energy to power this future is going to come from? I struggle to see how individual fabricators assembling objects from their constituent atoms is going to be anything other than very energy intensive and, importantly, much more energy intensive (and therefore expensive) than conventional mass production.

2 Likes

In the naive assemble-everything-from-atoms-one-by-one, youā€™d be absolutely correct. But there are workarounds.