MIT report on Aaron Swartz's prosecution is out, and it's a "whitewash"

[Permalink]

Article needs tag “christ what a bunch of assholes” at the very least. MIT, this is unacceptable. You just threw your integrity away. If I was an MIT student I would feel deep shame and, if I was somehow still there, give my options at other schools some serious consideration.

Fucking horrible, way to collude with oppression, MIT.

Imgur

The report seemed quite thorough and even-handed to me, but I don’t have a blog dedicated to projecting Swartz’s suicide on others, as does TarenSK (Although I research at MIT, so bias is bias). Nevertheless there are some critical facts in the MIT report that I haven’t seen mentioned. First, MIT didn’t “call the Feds”, they asked Cambridge Police to help investigate a series of mysterious, camouflaged laptops plugged into their network and an anonymous character sneaking about the network closets at MIT guarding his face from the security cameras. Nothing unreasonable there. Second, it didn’t request prosecution and told the prosecutor that it was seeking no punishment.

The report is quite clear, and I recommend people actually read it.

2 Likes

I’m going to take the time to read the report tonight, but I don’t need to do so before bristling at the accusation that it’s a “whitewash.” I know Hal Abelson. Whitewash is not Abelson’s stock in trade.

2 Likes

Honestly , BoingBoing would have considered it a white wash unless it explicitly found MIT directly at fault. They would not accept any report here from anyone that said different. It’s kind of the bias.

I think it would be more useful to discuss the substantive issues, rather than accusing Boing Boing of bias. I’ve known Abelson for as long as I’ve known Aaron, and I was surprised by this report.