Toys are more gendered now than they were 50 years ago

[Permalink]

I’ve noticed that a kid’s gender is more clearly established now than when I was a kid. But I also seem to remember adults being routinely embarrassed by getting the gender wrong back then. I wonder if the current state of affairs is a response to that phenomenon. Makes me see the hidden wisdom of the Victorian era practice of dressing all kids under 7 as girls.

I work in the toy industry, and did a degree in toy design… I can tell you it is an uphill battle trying to design toys without having marketing try to force gendering onto your ideas. Gender of a toy is something that is drilled into you on the school side, and is unquestioned by the marketing and sales people. They just don’t see the problem, in their mind it makes things better because they can sell twice as many SKUs, as gendering makes a pink toy undesirable to a boy, and vice versa. Parents are unwilling players in the game, being “forced” to buy the “colour correct” toy…

The problem isn’t the people like myself who dream up fun things for kids, its the marketing and sales people who answer to retail buyers. Retail establishments like the “pink” aisle as it makes things easier, and again helps push twice as much product… Many designers cringe at having to colour code a toy just so it passes through the higher ups and can make it to shelves.

9 Likes

The most basic thing taught in marketing is market segmentation. You target a segment of a market instead of the entire market because your ad dollars go further. The most basic segmentation is demographics (age, gender, ethnicity,family income). Since the goal is to sell the most with the least cost, it is inevitable that these characteristics would become the most important things n the minds of a business.

It is a lot easier to sell something to a specifically defined group than to “anyone who might like it”.