What emotions are most sought in stock photos?

[Read the post]

Photos don’t have emotions, organisms do.

1 Like

My brain read your post as “orgasims”…

2 Likes

Is that like a simulated orgasm? Being an organasm might not be so bad.

Not if you go by the urban dictionary definition.

They list seven definitions currently, sounds good to me!

None of them are mine, which was merely the idea of a living orgasm.

What kind of stock photos should we use for these?

I am sure this article demonstrates something important, and is not clickbait.

Mmmmmmmmm, living orgasm…I’m sorry, what were you saying?

I am interested in the weirdness of how/why people use such stock photos. Like “women laughing with salad”. Sometimes I actually call companies and ask them: “Who are these people?”, “What do they have to do with your company/product/service/etc?” Nobody ever seems to know!

As a graphic designer, I hear over and over “we need an image and it has to have a diverse group of people, doing this particular thing”, which is hard to find a lot of the time. Also, a lot of stock photography falls back on stereotypes…bosses and doctors are male, assistants are female, women are weak and emotional, men are strong and stoic. It’s very frustrating.

1 Like

But why pictures of people? When I started using the internet, what I loved about it was that it was text. Better yet, upgraded text, hypertext. Text can be used to communicate things we didn’t already know. Whereas people generally do know already what people look like.