What social deduction games like Werewolf tell us about ourselves

[Permalink]

I just started playing Battlestar Galactica… still talking about the last game that finished three days ago.

If you think the board games run deep in analysis, you should see how dedicated forum based games get. Where everything you ever say is always visible and referenced and an in game day will last for weeks.

One of my favourites in this genre of games is <a href=http://www.amazon.com/Da-Vinci-DVC-9100-BANG/dp/B001RU7UNW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415720242&sr=8-1&keywords=bang">Bang, with the twist that only one role is known ( the Sheriff) and the others are either loyal deputies or members of the bandit gang. A fun game that captures the feel of a Sergio Leone western.

But the main thing to remember about games like this is that they really only work with enough players to develop tangled dynamics, and my best memories are with up to ten people, so that the end round becomes a sort of spectator sport, with the “killed” players end up biting their nails almost as much as the survivors. Then again, the games I had been in left more time for role playing, for throwing accusations back and forth.

2 Likes

As a huge fan of board games and a new dad with budgeted social time, I’ve started to notice some things about myself.

1. I hate games with more than a page or two of rules.
  2. I hate games where you know that you’ve lost before you end.
  3. I hate games with significant downtime between turns.
  4. I hate obvious randomness. (Or “swingy” randomness) - But I love push-your-luck… so… I’m “complicated”
  5. I love games that leave people talking about it later.

Social deduction games are the best thing to happen to me. I’m only reasonably outgoing, but something about the “I can obviously not drink the wine in front of YOU” debate that even the simplest social deduction game brings out really resonates with me.

See also: