1922 cutaway drawing of the Washington Evening Star Building

[Permalink]

I heard that the real reason William Randolph Hearst campaigned to outlaw marijuana is that he was afraid hemp-based paper could hurt his lucrative people-mulching mills.

4 Likes

It looks just like SimTower, amirite?

6 Likes

They had a chute leading directly to the Matrix?

Intern: “Why, oh why didn’t I take the blue pill.”

I’ve been working a similar thing for 8 months http://teplin.com/blog/2014/11/17/come-dip-your-toes-in-my-big-canal

2 Likes

I see they had a stereotype department (8th floor). Nowadays that’s the job of the individual editorial writers.

9 Likes

I worked a summer job at a newspaper (also called the Evening Star) just before computers started to replace hot type - this illustration is just about perfect - note the giant cameras in the engraving dept (or it seems in this case another company that does it for them) - they are read - in the place I worked one side of the giant camera was actually in the dark room where they focused on the plate they were going to etch, the other outside pointing at the image they wanted to use.

The first people to go when computers arrived were the linotype operators and (proof-) readers/copy holders

2 Likes

So what stereo is is this - linotype machines align lines of brass positive slugs then cast a line-of-type (negative, backwards text) in type-metal (lead/tin) - after proof reading the blocks of lines of type (ir entire articles) are sent to the sub-editors who do page layout into frames, they do column and page breaks, add headlines and photo plates (from engraving). The result is a negative (backwards) flat page in a frame