Advice/inspiration: The "best part of getting laid off"

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/06/24/advice-inspiration-the-best.html

6 Likes

I got laid off twice (not counting the times I was a contractor whose contract was up), and dammit, Burning Man never called me back.

9 Likes

I really like this person and am glad he is doing what he can to help.

5 Likes

I’m halfway through the video, and I like it so far.

That said, not everyone has the luxury of a severance package that they can rely on to help them get back on their feet. I would even speculate that most/all minimum wage workers don’t.

That’s why we have to have a UBI that covers life’s necessities, so that everyone has a chance to follow their dreams without having to worry when the rent, utilities, etc are due.

(edit) Filming Burning Man while on unemployment. Yeah, this.

He had a safety net between the severance package and unemployment that made it even possible to strive for his dream. (although from my own layoff in 2008, I know that severance package amount is deducted from your unemployment benefits)

He didn’t have to scramble to take whatever shit job he could find to make ends meet. Plus he had the drive to make it a reality; I’m not diminishing his effort to succeed at all. That’s absolutely necessary.

However if his success came slower than it did, the money ran out and the unemployment benefit ended, he may have had to take whatever job was available.

With a UBI he could keep working toward it.

Everyone in our “first world” country should have that opportunity, and it should be a guaranteed right.

Sorry, but at this moment this hits pretty close to home.