Airlines celebrate record profits, having killed bereavement fares

[Read the post]

1 Like

There is having no bereavement fees and then there is lying about it. I’m not a lawyer but it seems to me that this is almost fraud or something like that. Maybe there is a case for a class action here.

17 Likes

Yeah, I agree with that. Not sure why you would make up some story about being able to get a refund if that isn’t the case. Makes no sense.

3 Likes

It sounds much more likely the company is disorganized and not everybody knows the latest policy, whatever it is. I’m sure none of you have worked in a place where that would happen.

6 Likes

I can see why the Times article author has a special interest in this situation, as his relatives will end up paying for bereavement tickets, and then having to pay again in four days…

Not defending the greedy airline corpsuckers but bereavement fares were typically just a 10-15% savings off the full coach walk-up fare which is almost always the most expensive ticket behind first class. In most cases you get a much better deal with even a 3 day advanced purchase.

There are a lot more shady airline practices to get upset over than killing off bereavement fares.

5 Likes

Could one arrange a bereavement fare if one were flying to Toronto to check on Rob Ford’s condition?

I see where you’re coming from, but I really believe here the fact that they don’t have bereavement fairs is not the bigger issue. The bigger issue is they LIED about it and then did nothing to remedy the problem with a valued customer. Especially considering that she was told wrongly twice about bereavement refunds being available.

Had she known the truth it may have influenced her such that she may not have even picked that particular airline (Someone else might have been cheaper).

8 Likes

I guess Mr Garrison was on to something

“it still beats dealing with the airlines”

6 Likes