Anime site Crunchyroll removes its bigot-flooded comment section

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/07/09/anime-site-crunchyroll-removes-its-bigot-flooded-comment-section.html

6 Likes

I’ve been using Crunchyroll for a couple of years, generally pretty pleased with the service. However just like YouTube, I never look at the comments. There’s nothing there that’s useful for me, so I ignore it. Besides with CrunchyRoll, 99% of my usage is through my Roku anyway, so comments aren’t even part of the user experience there.

In general though, comment sections for almost any website are the nadir of the internet, esp. YouTube and news sites.

10 Likes

Well, Twilight Out of Focus is going straight into my watch list. Thanks, bigots for bringing this one to my attention

I’m confused why this one got review bombed. It didn’t look like the same thing happened to several queer anime I watched recently like Stranger by the Shore. What is it about this one that brought the bigots out in force and bothered enough to create bot accounts?
Maybe it’s a perception thing on my part. I look at the review/stars on the app only and you must have a paid account to leave stars there.

11 Likes

There’s been a ton of yuri, yaoi and various LGBT content there over the years. If it was what the BB article said for the comments section to be closed it would have occurred years ago when the hullabaloo about Lily from Zombieland Saga being trans happened lol

This time it’s the homophobia combined with the criticism about how the show is subtitled with accusations of AI being used and/or the translators being crunched hard into getting the work out way too fast. That being said somebody made a browser extension to add a Discus comment section to those pages that are NOT moderated by CR staff so that might cause problems too in the long term.

Neckbeards making a bad situation even worse because they’re feeling oppressed lol

5 Likes