AP's how-to-use-hyphens-wisely guide causes consternation among pedants

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/10/07/dashed-hopes.html

6 Likes

And that’s why the Chicago Manual of Style is better than the AP Style Guide.

COME AT ME

13 Likes

MLA or GTFO.

4 Likes
36 Likes

This is some top notch writing about how people get mad about hyphen usage right here. “Decision-making abilities” is genius.

13 Likes

This means that I’ve been using this latest hyphenation guideline in my recent writings, without even being aware of it!

5 Likes

The problem with defending the purity of the English language is that English is about as pure as a cribhouse whore. We don’t just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary.

–James D. Nicoll

18 Likes

I was a high school student.

12 Likes

It means you have to believe in your own decision-making abilities.

I believe in my own, sure. But other people’s…

the no-hyphen first grade student,

What was the first grade given by the first first grade grade school teacher to the first first grade grade grubber?

12 Likes

I’m not sure if this when-to-use-hyphen-discussion-by-those-that-study-the-English-language-that-concludes-with-the-non-guideline-to-use-them-when-the-writer-deems-it-neccessary blog post really helped writers.

8 Likes

I’m rather apathetic about hyphens, but I will instantly mount a ground war against anyone who dares suggest that the oxford comma is unnecessary.

Everyone has their line.

13 Likes

If a hyphen makes the meaning clearer, use it. If it just adds clutter and distraction to the sentence, don’t use it. If the sheer number of hyphens in a phrase, or confusion about how to use them, can daunt either the writer or the reader, try rephrasing.

Great writing advice in general.

4 Likes