Baltimore to leave its cops on the hook for civil suit payouts

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/02/12/baltimore-to-leave-its-cops-on.html

3 Likes

But there’s a downside to this, as well: not all police officers have it in for the communities that they’ve sworn to protect. Many care as deeply for their fellow citizens as they do about coming home to their families at night. It could be difficult to attract or keep good cops to a city where they might have to think twice before using necessary force in the line of their duties, for fear of financial repercussions.

I agree that this could very well happen, but this is a reality in other industries. I work in the natural gas industry and everyone here is personally liable for acts of negligence, especially if said negligence ends in loss of life or severe property damage that could have been avoided. Affected people can bring a suit against the company but also against the particular individual. This generally motivates people in critical positions to take their role seriously and in the case of police officers i see what was reported as being along those lines. Don’t want to get sued? Always make sure that you’re taking every step to do your job properly, and if something were to ever happen you’ll be able to demonstrate that every precaution was taken. Double this up with dash cams and body cams and a good police officer should have proper evidence to back their asses.

30 Likes

I predict an insurance product will be, if not already is, being developed for individual officers.

12 Likes

“I talked to my agent, and he explained how he could lower my malpractice rates if I wore this bodycam, paid attention to my training, and behaved with professionalism.”

38 Likes

It is also true that the average policeman doesn’t have the kind of money that is often awarded in civil suits. So victims are unlikely to collect and as a consequence are unlikely to be able to get a lawyer to pursue civil damages.