Boing Boing 3.0, and Ask the Sysadmin!

I thought I’d start a thread to discuss the infrastructure at Boing Boing - current, future, and answer any questions about running a pretty high-profile blog. I’ve been threatening to do this for the Boingers as posts, but I never expected to find much of an audience that way. This is a better way to do so, IMHO.

For some background: I took over the hosting of Boing Boing on Halloween, 2003. I had already been hosting Cory’s personal site for some time before this, and the Boingers were in a pinch, with the site down for several days. I took my personal desktop, a white-box P233MMX down to my friend’s cage at the carrier hotel at 151 Front Street West in Toronto, and the rest is history.

As for my (personal) background - I’ve been a sysadmin since 1994, and managing large-scale infrastructure since 2001, where I designed the infrastructure for First Data’s first internet-enabled payment terminals (on Linux, which was a bit of a maverick move at the time - my boss made me put Solaris systems in front of them at first until they were actually proven to be faster). In the years since I’ve worked as the Director of Technology Operations for what was once the fourth largest online advertising network, as well as a stint as DTO for the Wikimedia Foundation. I’ve managed some big networks :slight_smile:

Anyway, ask me your questions! I’m going to add two more posts below, one about the current BB infrastructure, and one about the new setup, that I’ve dubbed *BB 3.0", and keep this as a running journal of the transition.

24 Likes

Current setup:

The current Boing Boing runs on six servers, as follows:

• 3 web front-end servers handling dynamic calls to Wordpress
  • 1 admin server handling the admin interface for Wordpress, and acting as origin for media.boingboing.net
  • 2 master-master replicated MySQL 5.6 servers for the database