Both sides of the vinyl come-back

[Permalink]

OK. As an engineer, I REALLY don’t get this. I honestly do not understand records at all…

I know the math, and could calculate the noise present in a digitally sampled signal – and it is very low for 16-bit PCM (CD format). You could get slightly lower noise by going to non-linear sampling (a-law or u-law, for example), but the average person would have a very hard time being able to tell the difference.

Really, the ONLY think that I can think of is that records are not as accurate and introduce distortions, but ones that people happen to like. When making the master record, the needle has mass and introduces frequency-dependent attenuation and group delay. Same thing for the needle reading the signal. ADC and DAC converters suffer from none of these limitation.

I can understand some frustration with MP3 music – it is lossy. However, people who really care about such things and can hear a difference are free to go to FLAC, which sounds exactly like the original CD. With modern cell phones and computers able to handle FLAC with no problem the only issue is increased storage space, but even 64GB micro-SD cards are not very expensive.

Vinyl is also more fragile, cannot be backed up, and is not very portable.

Do we have any vinyl fans who can enlighten me?

5 Likes

That’s part of it. I think it’s also being able to get more goodies with your album, record sleeves can have much bigger, nicer graphics or goodies stuffed inside them then the equivalent CD case could.

They’re also immune to the Loudness War mastering problems that CDs, MP3s. FLACs, and any digital music can be prone to, because you physically can’t master vinyl records like that, the needle can’t read it right.