Brexit is cratering London house prices

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/04/11/worst-since-2008.html

Nice to see there is at least some tiny benefit to brexit, no matter how unintentional it was… :wink:

IMHO, prices here in the SE could drop a flat 50% and they’d still be excessively overpriced…

20 Likes

Word.

I’ve been saying for 20 years that I can’t understand how house prices keep rising when there is no longer any relation to ordinary people’s income.

Some of it is “creative” new ways of selling the houses, such as shared mortgages, partial leasehold, or 5x salary mortgages, which of course are now biting people in the bum.

7 Likes

If anything, Brexit is revealing quite brutally how inflated the UK’s sense of worth is, including the value of being in London. I just got a flurry of TOS notices from online services that they are moving from London to Ireland, or Luxembourg. Even if Parliament decides to revoke Article 50 and stay in the EU, the dam is burst.

Blaming the bubble bursting on Brexit is, well, blaming the needle instead of the idiots who pumped too much air into the bubble in the first place.

17 Likes

I don’t think it was unintended at all. I’m quite sure that a guy like Farage and his supporters understood that Brexit would push rich foreign buyers away and they wanted that to happen. And they’re right. Why should rich Russians etc use London real estate as a piggy bank? That might help some people in the real estate and finance industries but it hurts ordinary Britons who want to, you know, afford to live in the city that has been the capitol of Britain for 2,000 years.
Brexit could have been avoided if Britain’s leadership had taken such issues, along with immigration, more seriously. Instead they showed contempt for their own people’s needs.