Company tells disgruntled customer that he will not receive support unless he removes a negative review, then threatens to sue him

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/01/02/company-retaliates-for-negativ.html

1 Like

This might work better if the company didn’t rely so heavily on such a niche audience. I could see Apple or Samsung being able to get away with doing it, because their audience and the market is vast, but even then, the power of viral internet protest is formidable. But ham radio? There are so few potential customers for the product, wouldn’t pissing off even one of them have a noticeable effect on market share?

19 Likes

So the reviewer replaced his negative review of the software with a negative review of the company?

6 Likes

At the bottom of page 38 of the forums, the guy who made the threat blames his behavior on diabetes/low blood sugar.
I’m no doctor, but isn’t 38 forum pages a long time to go between doses of medication?

20 Likes

Nope, the company did that all by itself…

7 Likes

They really didn’t think this through. The guy has already written a negative review. Did they really think he wouldn’t update it with what they did? It’s not like he had anything ELSE to lose! “Okay, I’ve changed my negative review into a more negative review.”

14 Likes

The problem is, it is also a very niche software without any alternatives for the functionality is my understanding, so where else are you going to go?

2 Likes

Don’t mess with amateur radio operators. We are an especially crusty and curmudgeonly bunch.

20 Likes

Sounds like a great niche for an open-source project.

6 Likes

what’s his typing speed?

1 Like

More than 50 hours by forum post timestamps…

1 Like

Two negatives. That’s a positive, right?

4 Likes