Credit card companies will no longer require signatures

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/04/10/credit-card-companies-will-no.html

5 Likes

You mean that I don’t have to make random squiggles on LCD pads anymore??

Good.

22 Likes

Bout fucking time! I’ve been saying they’re a farce for many years. What’s ridiculous is that headshots on cards were never mandatory. I had a Citi card starting in 1990 with a photo, they phased them out a few years back. It all shows that they’ve never been serious about security, since they just pass it along in the form of high rates. The joke’s on them in my case, since I pay the balance every month.

7 Likes

Congratulations on catching up to the rest of the world.

I can’t remember the last time I signed a credit card receipt. Chip and Pin have been ubiquitous for ages.

18 Likes

So what about some people with disabilities, who struggle to remember a PIN but can write a signature by muscle memory?

I know someone in this situation.

9 Likes

We still don’t have PIN. Chip, yes. PIN, no.

And yes, that makes the chip security pretty much worthless.

11 Likes

They already don’t need a signature. I got thrown out of a bar back in the 1980s and they had no problem processing my credit card.

I just realized - My mother was the last generation to learn Palmer penmanship. Will my son be the last generation to be able to produce a signature?

9 Likes

Oh good. I’ve been signing “Moo” for years just to see if anyone cares.

Spoiler alert: No one cares.

13 Likes

“Hey, I know a way to increase our profits! …Don’t worry, just look at how Wells Fargo got away with a slap on the wrist.”

3 Likes

I’m a smily face kinda guy myself.

7 Likes