Did I really just switch from Mac to Windows?

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/12/did-i-really-just-switch-from-mac-to-windows.html

6 Likes

in earlier versions of Windows, it was easy to get lost in nightmarishly arcane, deeply-nested configuration menus. Now it’s a snap.

Wait, what? I thought you said you got a Windows computer. There’s at least two control panels, and each controls different things with some overlap between them. The only thing that doesn’t make it nightmarish is there’s a search that hits both places.

28 Likes

First home computer was a Terak 8510. When you wanted to have 80-columns in the screen you inserted a card and turned the monitor sideways. lol

Got an Apple //e in 1983 and have used Macs every since. I was an editor at one job that required a PC in the workplace, which kinda sucked. But I endeavored to persevere.

2 Likes

I appreciate this article, including the info, the history, and the self-reflection. I’ve just always been confused by the concept of brand loyalty. I understand it for small, local, or niche brands, which are more vulnerable to outside forces (and conversely, more open to the influence of individual customers), but for large corporations it makes no sense to me. I’ve always felt that way, but it got cemented a bit more in my head when I was required to use a Mac in grad school (b/c the department head loved Macs) even though in several cases the Windows versions of software were easier to use or more available to students for free.

Also now I’m thinking about those “Mac Book says to get a Surface” ads, which I thought were brilliant.

5 Likes

Ubuntu. Go open source or go home.

21 Likes

Welcome t the other side. I watched last year when I built a small form factor gaming rig.