Don't copy-paste terminal commands from the web

[Read the post]

3 Likes

As an addendum, never install anything in a command line by piping the results of a curl command directly to the shell. This is disturbingly common. For example the standard Ruby Version Manager suggests you install it like this:

\curl -sSL https://get.rvm.io | bash

Don’t do that, and if anyone asks you to do that, they should feel bad.

13 Likes

ha ha ha ha! Suckers!

3 Likes

I LOLed!

I am a Linux novice, but am aware of the possibility of easily hosing or unsecuring my system.

If I had to copy something off the web, I would paste it into a text buffer instead, to be sure of what it was. Pasted stuff could include even a return/enter character to run it automatically from a terminal.

Better yet, use the “man” command with your binary of choice as an argument, so you can learn what they are, what they do, and what arguments they accept. Then you are in a better position to know a bit about how your system works.

8 Likes

[quote=“FTFA”]
Mark it with your mouse, copy it somehow (e.g. using CTRL+C) and paste it into a terminal. What happens?
[/quote]Since I’m not on a Linux machine, I have no idea. It would be nice if TFA told us what it did without making us actually do it under the specific OS you’re not supposed to do that sort of thing on…

3 Likes

If someone gives you a bad shell command, just do what I do and delete /etc. Works every time.

(In case it’s not obvious: Do NOT delete /etc unless you know what you’re doing and why.)

Also, for that matter, do not pour salt water into your computer or place your laptop in the microwave. Even if someone from technical support tells you to. Perhaps especially if so.

5 Likes

I just gave the links a quick glance, but the main attack vector seems to be text stings with partial obfuscation via CSS display props. (Here’s one source)