Excellent keyboard case for iPad Pro - the Logitech Create

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/03/09/excellent-keyboard-case-for-ip.html

2 Likes

Do you ever draw on your iPad with the Apple Pencil? If so, I’d love to hear what you think about it.

1 Like

I haven’t but I am thinking of getting one!

1 Like

The Apple Pencil is amazing (10.5" iPad Pro here). Every bit as good as my older Wacom Intuos. And the iOS app Procreate is nearly as good as Painter was on a PC just a few years ago. I am a crap artist but this combination amazes me.

I’m also going to give a shout out to the Poetic Lumos X case if you don’t need a keyboard case. $19-ish for a combined Smart Cover clone and clear rear cover (with Pencil holder). I like the semi-rigid rear case material. Haven’t had it long enough to say how durable it is but so far I love it.

2 Likes

Nice laptop!

1 Like

I do, all the time. I take notes on it several times a day as well - it’s brilliant. If you have an iPad Pro, there’s no way you shouldn’t have the pencil too.

2 Likes

I do have both an iPad Pro and a Pencil.

When I got it, I was looking forward to using some learn-how-to-draw apps to get better at sketching and I’ve been very disappointed by what’s out there.

I was hoping to find something that would show a video or slideshow in a small window and I would mimic the drawing on the canvas. When I fire up Procreate (for example), it’s a little overwhelming.

I can carry a book of drawing exercises with me, but I don’t want to carry more than I really need to.

2 Likes

I have a keyboard for my 4th gen ipad and it’s a game changer for usability, for sure.
When I used to work in an office a few years ago, it’s what I carried with me into meetings rather than my laptop.

1 Like

If only Apple would allow mouse input on to the iPad. It’d allow for much more precision when selecting text and graphics than a finger. But I guess that would eat into laptop sales so it isn’t going to happen.