Explainer: how anaedotal evidence about alternative medicine can lead you astray

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/07/19/explainer-how-anaedotal-evide.html

2 Likes

I’m not a scientist so I don’t have the training to find issues in different studies. So any help is appreciated.

Has somebody reviewed any of the reiki studies listed at the end of this article (http://www.takingcharge.csh.umn.edu/explore-healing-practices/reiki/what-does-research-say-about-reiki)? Are there fatal flaws in these studies?

I’ll be honest, this is the first time I’ve heard of Reiki and my WOO-meter just pegged out.

As the video said, the plural of anecdote is not data.

3 Likes

Did you try looking up any of them? From the abstract of the very first article listed:

"Results: Neither Reiki nor touch had any effect on pain or any of the secondary outcomes. All outcome measures were nearly identical among the 4 treatment groups during the course of the trial.

Conclusion: Neither Reiki nor touch improved the symptoms of fibromyalgia. Energy medicine modalities such as Reiki should be rigorously studied before being recommended to patients with chronic pain symptoms."

The website you cited is trying to do a whole lot of tap dancing to explain away why reiki actually does not work in properly designed studies, trying to say that it isn’t able to be studied because it’s holistic or something. Which is BS. If it has effects that are reliably helpful, then those effects can be studied. But it doesn’t.