Fair trade ebooks: how authors could double their royalties without costing their publishers a cent

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/03/16/launching-with-walkaway-apr-25.html

4 Likes

I’m a traditionally-published author of middle grade children’s books. I’m decidedly what would be called “mid-list.” I’d love to use this platform. Please keep us posted on how to apply/register/participate. Even if just people on my distribution lists got my books there, it would help me make a living at this.

8 Likes

My first thought was that this could be a contractual problem for some authors, and I see that in fact the site doesn’t sell all of these titles directly–there are links to Amazon! Linking to Amazon doesn’t really solve the problem of selling through Amazon.

It’s been a while since I’ve had to read a trade book contract (10 years or so), but it used to be common to have what were basically non-compete agreements that made it hard for the author to act as retailer. Possibly this has changed, and possibly publishers are willing to make other arrangements to stick it to Amazon. Of course, for small presses and self-published authors, as well as authors with out-of-print backlist, this could be a good deal.

3 Likes

So you’re just cutting out the middle man, and passing the savings on to the cu… on to yourself?

2 Likes

Are people familiar with Bandcamp? It’s a minimal middleman between music artists and consumers. It gives consumers better prices, artists bigger cuts, and the option to pay more for the product than cover price. Maybe that is another model to consider.

7 Likes