Fantasy accounting: how the biggest companies in America turn real losses into paper profits

[Read the post]

And then the taxman comes around and those magic profits suddenly turn back into massive losses. Pretty good trick indeed.

20 Likes

I got my accounting degree in 2014, and I had some older professors that really dug into how companies do this. It did not inspire confidence in any of these big companies financial statements.

10 Likes

The biggest problem is government accounting.

Namely leaving off massive liabilties from their balance sheet reporting.

In the process they turn assets into profits, then spend the profits. The liabilities are still there.

It’s pensions.

ie. X contributes money to the state for their retirement.

The state has the asset, the cash, and owes people the pension.

Now the state spends the cash. Assets zero, liability unchanged, so that is a loss on taxpayer’s equity.

But governments can’t tell people they are up shit creek in their old age. So book the cash as profit, spend it, leave the liabilities off the books.

When the debt duck comes home to roost, you’re long gone.

3 Likes

The problem isn’t that there is no money. It’s the government. Especially if we are talking feds, we don’t have a problem there. The problem is where our elected officials want that money to go. As a country, our officials have consistently cut down on the programs, like pensions, and kept huge amounts of funding for defense projects, etc. It’s about priorities. The money is definitely there.

It leaves me much more concerned about the corporations that refuse to pay their employees, and loose pensions as well.

I work in an accounting field that is government related.

12 Likes

Why is the SEC stop enforcing them, in the aftermath of the 2008 Global Financial Crisis?

2 Likes