Former Mozilla CTO was detained at US border and told he had no right to a lawyer

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/04/03/former-mozilla-cto-was-detaine.html

12 Likes

38 Likes

51 Likes

I guess there are now different classes of citizenship.

12 Likes

FYI, I am not a lawyer but if an officer quotes 18 USC § 111 as a reason for snooping on your devices implying that your refusal to comply is “resisting or impeding” his investigation, Long vs. United States found that the threat or use of force is the determining factor.

The whole statute reads: “forcibly assaults, resists, opposes, impedes, intimidates or interferes with any person designated in 18 U.S.C. § 1114 or who formerly served as a person designated in § 1114, while engaged in or on account of the performance of his/her official duties.” [emphasis added]

https://www.justice.gov/jm/criminal-resource-manual-1565-forcible-act-required-18-usc-111-application-statute-threats

No doubt this will make little difference in the interrogation room but arming oneself with a little knowledge ahead of time may give some comfort to those being intimidated to give up their passwords.

27 Likes

Anything less than complete, immediate, subservient compliance is “forcible” resistance to authoritarians.

37 Likes

Ugh, no love for sovereign citizens, but you can see where they might get the idea that magic words on a piece of paper would carry legal weight. Double ugh thinking about how many of these authoritarian foot soldiers are themselves sympathetic to libertarian, might-makes-right arguments, and see their authoritarian activities as justified to stave off some left-wing boogeyman (if they see the contradiction at all…)

18 Likes

Suspicion breeds confidence.

Source: Terry Gilliam’s Brazil.

21 Likes