FTC bans tax-filing parasite TurboTax from advertising itself as ‘free’

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/01/23/ftc-bans-tax-filing-parasite-turbotax-from-advertising-itself-as-free.html

5 Likes

I know they passed a law a couple years ago where they finally made state filings “free”.

I used to have to file two state income taxes because I worked in one and lived in the other. PITA and double the fee :confused:

It is kinda silly that the states and government just don’t have their own website for this. But, you know, capitalism. :confused:

4 Likes

I have been doing taxes in Excel for at least 5 years. If you have an experienced tax preparer do your taxes once, you should be able to to the following years tax paperwork. On the other hand, if you just drop a disorganized pile of paperwork and receipts, the tax preparer deserves to get paid. I would not touch Turbo Tax with a 10 foot pole.

3 Likes

The tax code changes from year to year.

3 Likes

Most people shoudn’t need to file at all, the IRS aleady has the numbers. It’s the tax preparation industry lobbyists that make it necessary for everyone to buy software every year…

12 Likes

One popular analogy is someone orders a pizza, the pizza delivery person asks the customer to work out what they owe for the order, and if they guess wrong they go to jail.

(I guess we could also expand this analogy by giving rich people a bunch of coupons for all the free pizza they want.)

12 Likes

If all you have is W2s and 1099s (no K-1s), Turbotax can work really well. And software like this (or TaxAct or H&R Block’s software offerings) is WAY cheaper than going to a storefront tax prep place, where all they really do is ask you the same questions that the software asks.