Guy sends a "hotter more successful" lookalike to his high school reunion

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/11/09/guy-sends-a-hotter-more-successful-lookalike-to-his-high-school-reunion.html

4 Likes

“The best revenge is living well.” ~ George Herbert

“The second best revenge is…cat-fishing your HS reunion?” ~ Vice

Seems a bit thirsty.

29 Likes

Why?

Once you’re done, high school is irrelevant. Reunions are a waste of time & energy.

43 Likes

Agreed.

I now live 3000 miles away from my hometown, and I don’t need to “prove” to anyone that my life is far better now than it was when I graduated high school.

Hell, that’s rather a low bar…

39 Likes

When I got word that my 10th high school reunion was coming (at the same place we had our senior prom, no less) I debated showing up, but filthy, in disheveled clothes and a scraggly beard, pushing a shopping cart full of empty cans.

I didn’t of course, because I just don’t have the guts of Andy Kaufman, and I also couldn’t think of a good way to end the prank.

And ultimately I’d still have to deal with a bunch of people I have no interest in talking to anyway.

18 Likes

I don’t know. I mean the concept is funny but it really comes off as being rather pathetic.
I say this without having actually watched this video. Maybe I will change my mind after I see it but that will have to wait till the morning.

4 Likes

Speaking of Kaufman… this is the plot of an episode of the classic sitcom Taxi, where actor Bobby imitates Louie at the latter’s class reunion.

19 Likes

I had one person from high school apologize years later for being mean to me. It was nice, but I put more effort into telling her I appreciated it because I wanted her to feel better about apologizing than it actually meant to me. I recognized that it didn’t matter and I wasn’t the person she’d hurt so many years ago anymore.

19 Likes

This.