Hackers can force airbags to deploy

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/10/24/what-could-go-wrong-2.html

3 Likes

Oh hey I know a few guys who work for MITRE. Nice to know some of what goes on there.
Also that would really make the commute suck.

4 Likes

This is why I always make sure there are no hackers hiding in my footwell before I leave for work.

10 Likes

It’s not immediately obvious (to me) from reading the article or the vulnerability specification whether this can be remotely triggered (e.g. by WiFi) or if this requires physical access to the connections in the car.

5 Likes

The linked text says this about that:

…via predictable Security Access (SA) data to the internal CAN bus (or the OBD connector).

Disclaimer, I’m no expert when it comes to cars, like at all…

The ODB connector is a plug that (I believe) is usually accessible from some hidden location on the dashboard (the glove compartment, behind a panel, somewhere) and maybe under the hood. So for now this would require physical access to the (inside of the) car. Of course you could plug something in there covertly and deploy the code remotely later.

However most cars are in one way or another connected to a wireless network, (bluetooth, wifi, even mobile data) for the media features of your car. If you’re a really clever hacker you may be able to jump from there to the CAN bus and in that way deploy this exploit remotely without the physical access. I’m not really following this closely but I don’t think a working example of jumping from the “media part” of the board computer to the “car part” has been found yet.

5 Likes

You can even do it ‘remotely’ from the outside by hitting the car just hard enough…

No need to hack anything :wink:

12 Likes