Health industry lobbyists are posing as "ordinary citizens who don't want Medicare for All"

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/03/20/just-a-normal-businessman.html

8 Likes

Well I think MFA is a fine idea, and I’m a health insurance salesman too.

Medicare doesn’t cover everything. There are copays and deductibles, there’s no maximum out-of-pocket, and it doesn’t cover ancillary items like vision, dental, and hearing aids. I’ve had people ask me if MFA would put me out of business. Hell no, it would increase demand for my services tenfold.

9 Likes

As a user of the UK’s National Health Service, I would say I’m quite happy with my health care; certainly happier than I’ll be if we were to fall under the cold, vampiric shadow of American Health Care.

20 Likes

In California? What state?

1 Like

I feel as though the opinions about healthcare in America should be weighted to favor those who have had to pass through the system. Tough to do without seeing the commenter’s bona fides.

You don’t care about someone’s opinion of a movie they haven’t seen, book they haven’t read, album they haven’t listened to, game they haven’t played. You also don’t take the creator’s word as to how good it is.

It would be helpful if someone would collect testimonials from people who have been through it.

7 Likes

I don’t think I’ve ever met a single person who qualified for Medicare who has stated that they’d prefer to be left to the mercy of the free market. It’s one of those programs everyone loves when they actually have it. Even when they claim to be against “socialized medicine.”

24 Likes