Here's the pen cartoonist Tom Gauld uses

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/01/15/heres-the-pen-cartoonist-tom.html

5 Likes

This is my favorite pen. It writes smoothly and dries quickly. It’s perfect for writing small. I use it daily in my morning notebook.

7 Likes

Does it handle left-handed paper stabbing?

4 Likes

F yeah. And you V7 fans can look forward to a special place in hell.

3 Likes

I’ve been using this pen for the last 25 years, since back when the whole thing was gray and Moleskine journals were being revived in popularity at Barnes and Noble. I’ve always liked the nice crisp scratching noise it makes on ruled paper. I keep one of these in my pocket all the time, even if I don’t have a piece of paper or notebook on me. It feels weird when it’s absent.

I hate it when I get a V7 instead of V5. Our office assistant ordered a box of the wrong size once and I couldn’t order a replacement until they were gone so suddenly everyone I met in the office got a new pen!

8 Likes

Those V5s are great. Separately for those of you with a Muji in town or in the vicinity - these gel pens are also great, in either the 0.5 or the 0.38 ball versions.

2 Likes

No Uni-ball Eye Micro love? I guess it is a little wet, but it’s so unscratchy.

Although I guess some people (who are better than me at drawing) like some scratchiness. Given my lack of fine motor control, perhaps I should try to learn to like it.

3 Likes

But is it archival ink?

1 Like

I like ballpoints – I know, I’m weird. Parker Jotter FTW!

2 Likes

Apparently not archival

4 Likes

2nd vote for the Parker Jotter. Has been my go-to for sketching and utility for years. Has a nice bold line, but ball point allows for much lighter strokes making it great for subtle shading. And if you’re inclined to carry a 10 or 20% gray marker in your pocket as well, you can “grab” the ink and pull it around the paper for even more shading effects in a nice blue tone.