How dollar stores score the highest profit margins

Originally published at: How dollar stores score the highest profit margins | Boing Boing

7 Likes
16 Likes

While it is indeed a scam of sorts, we must also recognize that convenience itself has value as well as take care not to “blame the victim.” My personally-relatable anecdote is, when I was a college intern, one of the senior designers at the firm I was working scolded me about my habit of buying cheap (in every sense of the word—admittedly even at the time) shoes from K-mart and replacing them every few months (I walked everywhere), rather than saving up for good quality shoes, not bothering to even try to conceive the enormous privilege he was betraying.

6 Likes

I do wish that schools would require personal finance as a year long class around junior year in high school and teach the basics of this stuff. Being poor is really expensive and I wish folks were better armed to make basic economic decisions.

18 Likes

Ahhh, Sam Vimes’ Boots Theory of Economic Injustice.

https://wiki.lspace.org/Sam_Vimes_Theory_of_Economic_Injustice

18 Likes

The pricing and quality of Dollar Tree is TERRIBLE when compared to most normal goods.

But if you are traveling, their pricing is a bargain when compared to travel sizes at Target/Amazon/DrugStores. If you are in a vacation rental and need a random household product that you don’t need to last more than a week or two, you can get it for $1 from them vs $5-10 at Amazon or Target.

The one thing I very much dislike about this chain hasn’t been covered here though. They are notorious for balancing their budget and executive bonuses on the backs of their employees. In order to make their performance look good, towards the end of a financial quarter they will often suddenly shut down all stores in a region a few hours earlier each day. They cut down the hours of their low paid staff - who will often have to quit and find more stable employment. It’s pretty horrible.