How the United States re-branded as "America"

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/03/11/how-the-united-states-re-brand.html

7 Likes

The United States of America is the only country in the world that has the word “America” in its name. It is NOT the only country that has the words “The,” “United,” “States” or “of.”

If you’re going to shorten the name to a single word then that’s the abbreviation that makes sense.

17 Likes

I do wonder if the term caught on first from within or without. When I moved to Europe in the early 1980s, I was struck by how the country was referred to as “America”, because up to that point I hadn’t heard it referred to as such that often back home, except in patriotic songs like “America the Beautiful”.

5 Likes

Thank you.

So, I’m a professional historian and have written several books and articles. I hold a faculty appointment at an American university. I say that as a preface to the fact that in my digging through various documents from the 1790s, written by Spanish officials and maintained in Spanish archives in Seville and Havana, I have seen the USA referred to as “America” and USAns referred to “Americans” as early as 1793. So, this dates to the beginning of the country, and predates any other country’s founding in North or South America.

31 Likes

A related shift in usage, that took place about the same time, was the change from construing the United States from plural to singular. Prior to the late 19th Century, people would consistently say and write ‘the United States ARE…’, rather than ‘the United States IS…’ The plural nowadays survives, for the most place, only in phrases like ‘life in these United States.’