How to crank start an antique car

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/06/02/how-to-crank-start-an-antique-car.html

8 Likes

Deader than Willie Nelson’s smoke detector

:rofl:

9 Likes
  1. Make damn sure that it’s in neutral!
12 Likes

For even more entertainment: How to Safely Hand Prop an Airplane. The first (and one of the few times) I did this, I was a high school student convinced of my own immortality. My instructor was a veteran 60+ year old pilot who carefully talked me through the process. It wasn’t until after the engine started that I noted he was missing all of the finger tips on his left hand.

10 Likes

I have done it more than once. My dad involved several of us in his antique car restoration hobby and I was the one most connected with the 1930 Model A - especially during its disassembly and documentation.

When the engine was completely rebuilt and re-assembled, it was considerably tighter than when we first got ahold of the car. That means it deserved a few cranks by hand before we engaged the electric starter.

We also spent some time on the road and at shows with the Model A club, looking under hoods and fixing things.
The brown tudor sedan is my Dad’s (well, it was until he sold it recently).

10 Likes

I inherited a Wolseley 1500 from my grandmother and drive it around in the 1980s.

It had a hand crank for if the battery died, which happened on a couple of occasions. It was a great little car. By modern standards it was a joke but I really liked it.

Interestingly, a lot of the parts are in common with MGs of the same era.

10 Likes

I’ll stick with my emergency lithium starter.

2 Likes

The Ford Model A uses a 6 Volt battery with a positive ground. It’s a bit different from modern cars.

2 Likes

2CVs also had a crank start