In Nevada, Tyler Turnipseed desperately leads a losing battle against 'Zombie deer'

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/10/07/in-nevada-tyler-turnipseed-de.html

5 Likes

Do we want the walking dead, cause this is how we get the walking dead… probably.

12 Likes

I just started playing The Last of Us. Is this where it starts?

5 Likes

At least a late-period Margaret Atwood dystopia.

4 Likes

prion disease

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH

4 Likes

I think I saw this movie

2 Likes

Tyler Turnipseed

That is a quality name.

15 Likes

Hmmm, this tales puts a new complexion on this previous story.

“They’re coming to get you, barber!”

9 Likes

That is a straight up Marvel Comics name.

“No-one knows that Tyler Turnipseed is…The GAMEWARDEN!”

8 Likes

If they can rampage through a hair salon on Long Island, nowhere is safe.

1 Like

Not sure why we are making light? Chronic Wasting disease, or Deer Mad-Cow is pretty serious. There are few cases of it being transmitted to humans, but the risk is always there. Here in Minnesota it is endemic in the southern half of the state. We are also a deer hunting state, and everyone I know eats venison from time to time. Including me and my family. My husband participates in a monitoring study, donating deer spinal cord etc. to researchers. We use processors who are very careful to exclude nervous system tissue from the meat, and my husband hunts in the northern half of the state. Minnesota just started prohibiting any deer imports into the state (for farmed deer.) It’s pretty serious stuff.

13 Likes

Wow. I am so glad I was not drinking when I got your barber line. You win the internet for today.

1 Like

Considering that it’s the deer version of Mad Cow Disease, (aka Creutzfeldt-Jakob in humans), you are absolutely correct.