I've been using my $120 Amazon 10" Fire HD Tablet for 5 months and love it

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/05/06/ive-been-using-my-120-amazo.html

2 Likes

Not available in Canada. Not just the sale price but the device itself. Why Amazon, why?

5 Likes

@jlw Are you able to sideload apps/games (namely Humble Bundle purchases) onto your FireHD 10?

How is the battery life? I bought one on Prime Day a few years back and it can’t hold a charge for much more than an hour, IIRC.

Yep. Just allow apps from unknown sources and download the .apk from the HB website. Installing the Google framework and Play store was slightly trickier, but between those two I don’t think I’ve even looked at the Amazon app store.

3 Likes

I have the 7", acquired using the snowbird mum connection. I’m moderately happy with. It’s my kitchen TV, essentially. However now that my daughter has taken over our first generation iPad Mini, I’m wishing it could do more. I mainly want to use it to read comics. I have sideloaded Darkhorse on to it, but it remains flakey. Comixology insn’t in the store, so if you haven’t linked your Comixology account to your Amazon account (and if you’re Canadian, you absolutely should not) you have to sideload Comixology, and it is similarly flakey. I haven’t found a good CBR/CBZ reader for it yet, so all my Humble Bundle comic purchases are locked to Chunky on the iPad when I can grab it.

Yes.

WRT battery life, my 10 is still “as new” and gets me 8-8 hrs of web surfing or 4-6 of video via net. Local video eats less as not using the radio.

2 Likes

Have you tried “ACV” (“Android Comic Viewer”) yet? Completely free, no ads. Simple interface, works well for my purposes.

@Millennium_Dodo: The Amazon App Store has a decent number of free “Underground” apps that can be quite worth the zero $$ they cost =). Even “in-app purchases” are free in Underground games.

3 Likes

Is “Undeground” somehow Prime/Twitch related?