I've tried a lot of different kitchen knife sharpeners, and this cheap one is my favorite

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/07/22/ive-tried-a-lot-of-different-2.html

1 Like

@frauenfelder Product Recommendation: check out the Manual Sharpener from WorkSharp. I use one of these and like it very well.
https://www.worksharptools.com/shop/sharpeners/manual/guided-sharpening-system/

Yay, another knife sharpening thread!

5 Likes

A friend of mine who has a forge and hammers out knives got one of these for me about three years ago. He said if I’m not good with a wet stone I’d just damage my knives and screw up their edges when I had asked him about sharpening kitchen knives. He said that these things are pretty good and even if you’re not an old hand at honing a knife these things will do the job for most people. I’ve been a fan of them and pushed them on a few friends who had kitchen knives so dull they were dangerous.

4 Likes

I’ve got something like this as well, although it incorporates a handle, which gives me a better grip on the base unit while I’m sharpening.

That reminds me, I do need want a new kitchen knfe once everything is open again.

Pretty sure these sorts of things just hone your knives.

2 Likes

I have one of these:

Which, along with regular honing, does a phenomenal job of keeping my knives sharpened for daily kitchen use. It is, however, super-expensive, so if your knives themselves are cheap to replace, a cheap sharpener is probably fine even if it removes a lot of material. I’m able to sharpen my knives every six weeks or so provided I keep up my honing regimen.

The awesome Project Farm channel on youtube (which I believe has been featured on BB before) did a comparison of some of the high end and… weird options out there:

5 Likes