Kano Computer Kit – If kids can put together Legos, then why not a whole computer?

[Read the post]

1 Like

A ten-dollar keyboard? Luxury! When I started programming on a Sinclair ZX-81, there wasn’t even a keyboard! 'N the whole thing was £100, and that’s when a pound was real money!

7 Likes

So, it’s not for you then?

Pretty sure boys is not the operative word there.

2 Likes

Uhh, for some definition of “put together…a whole computer”…

Aren’t kids already able to to this? Take a laptop, insert the battery, plug in the AC adapter - voila!

/I’m a hardware dude, dude. The only computers I purchased pre-built was my ‘Peach 2001’ Apple ][e clone and my ToughBooks.

// why is my spell-checker flagging ‘pre-built’?
/// more importantly: Why is it suggesting ‘pee-built’? I kid you not.

8 Likes

Yeah, I was hoping to see something more like Nand2Tetris

There kids go all the way from basic Nand gates and assemble the pieces until they can program their own Tetris game.

2 Likes

I reckon assembling a computer in general tends to be much less frustrating than coding, especially when starting with hardware components that are already known to play nicely with one another. And I reckon Scratch is always going to be much less frustrating than BASIC, regardless of whether one is running it on a Pi or on a desktop PC.

But I think it’s safe to say indeed that little of value has been lost in discarding the task of having to type in lengthy listings of BASIC programs from out of books and magazines, except maybe typing practice.

2 Likes

jeez, I thought it was neat.:cry:

2 Likes

Yeah, well, you just have computed until you’ve smelted the silicon chips outta the ground and kettle-cooked them in small-batches yourself.

5 Likes

Not even a keyboard? I should be so lucky. When I started programing, hands hadn’t even been invented yet.

6 Likes

I had hands, but I had to type uphill both ways.

In the snow.

14 Likes

Wait. You had gravity? Lucky.

3 Likes