Kenneth Anger, experimental filmmaker and occultist, RIP

Originally published at: Kenneth Anger, experimental filmmaker and occultist, RIP | Boing Boing

1 Like

Also worth mentioning his important role as a historian of filmmaking. Hollywood Babylon is an essential text for anyone interested in the history of the American film industry. It’s even more interesting in that it’s somewhat fantastical (and not entirely reliable), echoing the themes of myth and mysticism in Anger’s own films.

6 Likes
3 Likes

When, as a student, I saw my first Kenneth Anger film — “Fireworks,” which he made in 1947 when he was just 20 — I remember being absolutely stunned by its audacity and intelligence.
It seems to me that as an experimental filmmaker Anger is second only to Maya Deren in his overall impact on American culture.

2 Likes

“Fireworks” is certainly the strangest US Military recruitment ad I’ve seen. It lacks the explicit sexual overtones of later ones. :smirk:

2 Likes

Mine was Scorpio Rising. It blew my mind.

2 Likes

This is probably my favorite piece on Anger, an hour long German doc with some behind the scenes footage of him making (if I remember right) Lucifer Rising.

2 Likes

Karina Longworth took an entire season of her always excellent podcast You Must Remember This to explore the facts behind Anger’s Hollywood Babylon.

3 Likes

One of the most accurate descriptions of Finns I ever heard is in that interview from DisinfoCon (2000).