Kitchen knife made from aluminum foil

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/03/26/kitchen-knife-made-from-alumin.html

3 Likes

Very find craftsmanship on display here, shame it is for the production of an aluminum knife. It’s almost a troll video. Still, who am I to be the fun police.

5 Likes

This will come in handy when I am in prison! Thank you, Youtube!

8 Likes

I think this is a really cool concept and I’ve enjoyed some of the other videos, but this one doesn’t do it for me. It leaves me with a feeling of “not sure if being trolled”. I’m a hobbyist blacksmith, and I’ve made a fair number of knives, including some aluminum (non functional) reproductions for stage and reenactment. There are a lot of things here that just didn’t look right.

To the best of my knowledge, aluminum will not forge weld under any conditions, let alone room temperature. The surface oxide layers prevent fusion. Aluminum foil has a coating on one side that would prevent fusion. Aluminum is soft and bendy, but his billet is rigid. The treatment with the gas burner should leave the aluminum soft and it should sound dull when struck but his billet rings like a bell when tapped. The effort he put into the hacksawing was very high for a 1/8th inch thick aluminum sheet, and looked like something harder. There’s no point in going up to grits of multiple thousands with aluminum: it won’t sharpen to that extent, and will have a mirror polish long before you’re up to ten thousand grit japanese water stones.

Or, right after the roll of sandwich wrap was flattened and evenly marred up a similar sized strip of something else was substituted, and since they were both evenly hammer marked, it was unnoticeable.

10 Likes

All you need is to smuggle in about 5 grand worth of high end whetstones.

5 Likes

That and a tin foil hat and you have a nice set for a Xmas present.

9 Likes