Maker Dad: DIY projects for grownups and kids

[Permalink]

1 Like

Neat! But I’m going to have a son :frowning:

2 Likes

I’ve got one of each… I wonder if this is a sneaky tactic for Mark to sell twice as many books. Or four times as many, if there’s also one for mother-son and mother-daughter projects. :wink:

2 Likes

I am a bit hesitant to criticize this, because I’m sure it comes from the great place of wanting to encourage more girls towards STEM careers… But why the limiting title? I’m a female engineer who has a daughter. I’m the parent who loves making stuff, and would be interested in a book like this… Except for that title. The subtitle of your post opens a way wider audience than the actual title of the book.

6 Likes

Or 2600 times as many, taking in to account the 51 genders available on facebook. That would be a fitting number, wouldn’t it?

Seriously though, @frauenfelder I’m super excited about this book. It looks awesome. I just have to wait a few years until my son is old enough to do some of these things.

2 Likes

Mark - this looks fantastic and, on the one hand, I do applaud you for creating something for Dads and Daughters specifically. On the other hand, don’t call this a book for parents and children as that’s clearly not your intent.

I do strongly believe we need to provide more encouragement for girls and young women to get into the STEM/STEAM careers and interests. And it is somewhat encouraging to see things like your book and the Goldiblox system out there to do it.

But both of those things also fly in the face of the goals set forth for other supporters of women in STEM. The argument thus far has been that these things are marketed to boys and men. Does it then make sense to counter it by only marketing it to girls and women? Or does it make more sense to completely shift the marketing so it’s not just for one gender, but for anyone who expresses an interest?