Martin Gardner's 'Science Magic,' fun tricks you can try at home

[Read the post]

1 Like

You should look at Ron Edge’s String and Sticky Tape Experiments from the AAPT Press.

Maybe also these (on which I am an author):

https://www.iat.com/courses/middle-school-science/project-based-inquiry-science/?type=introduction

though they are intended for larger groups of kids. But there are some very nice design problems.

2 Likes

Okaaay, but is there a f’rexample for pondering the 450page-ish Ron Edge 1978ish String and Sticky Tape Experiments? The Martin Gardner at hand is 97 pages (and dates to The Roaring 2011s.) Or this thing’s from 2006 for comparison (though n.b. it seems to throw Firefox for an endless loop) http://demoroom.physics.ncsu.edu/downloads/PFJD.pdf (Physics from the Junk Drawer)

http://www.arvindguptatoys.com/arvindgupta/ Hooboy, the crush of toys. (Links tend to contain a redundant codon.)

So of IAT stuff from your link, I should be looking at Content of course and picking a study group size ($26 a student group, for example; or less for another group or $1800 for the whole tree (for a year?)) Or for the booklets/pdf by themselves, at Print & Digital Resources and ringing/emailing for a quote there?

https://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/chtouch.html A peripheral neurology bit.

This isn’t science, it’s entertainment. It’s cool to do tricks with kids, but where is the hypothesis you’re testing? Where is the data collection? It does feel sciency, but as anti-science folks get stronger and louder, feeling sciency isn’t enough. When Ted Cruz indicts your science teacher for teaching evolution, the little matchstick man in the bottle won’t save her.

1 Like

But, really. Science is just any sufficiently advanced form of magic.

1 Like