Microsoft sues the government for the right to tell you when they're reading your email

[Read the post]

5 Likes

Brad Smith has been on a roll these past few weeks. First his support of Apple, now this.

3 Likes

Thank you.

1 Like

I’m glad that at least one industry is doing something about this Big Brother thing that Obama is so deep into.

OK, I don’t know if spying floats Obama’s boat, but he sure doesn’t seem to be doing anything positive about our personal privacy.

5 Likes

I wonder if this will include the En Es Ay

1 Like

Can’t quantum encryption do this automatically? I am a quantum computing noob, but can’t somebody flipping a bit elsewhere to decrypt your post flip another corresponding bit that you can see?

I’d like to know.

If you’re sugesting to transfer information through quantum entanglement, then no, since that would violate the laws limiting the speed of light. But perhaps some kind of tamper evidence scheme could use it locally.

Isn’t the speed of light a completely localized limitation? Would this still apply to a state with nonlocal quantum variables? If the entanglement is nonlocal, then it seems that if it appeared in two places “simultaneously”, this could be treated as implicit and localizing without actually “travelling” anywhere.

Either way, if it took me a few seconds or minutes to get the alert would not be a dealbreaker, since it would be more useful than idly speculating.

The distance between entangled particles is irrelevant. The limit to conveying information across distances comes from the fact that you actually have to measure the variable to set it, it being indeterminate before measurement (which might work as tamper evidence with nonlocal particles). I’m pretty sure somehow forcibly setting the variable (flipping the bit) would break the entanglement.