Mint: late-stage adversarial interoperability demonstrates what we had (and what we lost)

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/12/05/aaron-patzer.html

Of course, adversarial interoperability can only go so far and do so much. You really need interoperability as standard, enforced by a consumer-friendly regulator.

Which brings us to a rather fitting postscript to this story:
In the EU and the UK, regulatory action has forced banks to open up customer data through standardised APIs, as part of PSD2

2 Likes

I don’t disagree with the commentary about adversarial interoperability, but …

Patzer was frustrated with the amount of manual work it took to track his finances with these tools, which at the time weren’t smart enough to automatically categorize “Chevron” under fuel or “Safeway” under groceries.

That seems like a misunderstanding of some sort.
This is the benefit of QuickFill, which existed since the earliest versions of Quicken. (I was an engineer on Quicken for Windows from 1994 to 2002.) I still use Quicken 2000, and it definitely has a couple different ways to set the default category based on the payee for people entering transactions by hand.

Patzer’s idea was to create a service that would take all your logins and passwords for all your bank, credit union, credit card, and brokerage accounts, and use these logins and passwords to automatically scrape your financial records, and categorize them to help you manage your personal finances.

For me, that eliminates the main value proposition for using personal finance software to begin with. Mint doesn’t download your financial records, it downloads your bank’s records. The joy of using something like Quicken is catching all the bank errors when you reconcile your records against the banks. It’s astounding how often they’re wrong. What I really want is automation for filling out the claim forms when the credit card charge doesn’t match your receipt.