My Career: Things I Love, Things I Hate, Things People Don't Know

Since this community has so many people from so many different backgrounds, I thought it might be fun to talk about what we all do in meatspace. I think it’d be really fascinating to get a bit of insight into what people do (or used to do if retired) on a day-to-day basis. To keep it from getting too personal or posting identifiable information, I thought we could just keep it to the ups and downs and surprising things about a given career. I’ll get us started… (If this seems overly self-indulgent, please let me know and I’ll take this down.)

Career: Translator (Japanese to English)
Note: The experience of a translator probably varies quite a bit depending on the language set. I would love to hear from people who handle other languages.

Things I Love:

1. I get to say I am a professional writer! Because technically, I am! Seriously, though, not to brag, but I take a lot of pride in creating readable documents in English; a lot of craftsmanship goes into each and every sentence.
  2. I get to learn SO much. I translate all sorts of documents, and you have to understand what the document is talking about to come up with something equivalent in English. This means spending a lot of time poring through Wikipedia articles about subjects that I would never look up otherwise, including things like Hazmat requirements and navigating export control rules.
  3. I work both in-house at a major manufacturer and freelance. In both areas, I get to set my own schedules and priorities when it comes to what gets translated when. (I agree to a deadline, rather than having one imposed on me.)

Things I Hate:

1. Some people are just not very good at writing. A lot of documents that I have to translate are just really poorly written (and I’m talking about grammatical and logical errors, in addition to really flat prose), but I still have to translate them all the same.