NASA's Voyager I has stopped sending data home

Originally published at: NASA's Voyager I has stopped sending data home | Boing Boing

6 Likes

I know exactly how you feel, Voyager I.

21 Likes

15 billion miles - 22 light hours distant. 44 hours for a reply. Kinda like talking to teenagers, amirite?

Respect I Tell Ya GIF by Rodney Dangerfield

11 Likes
9 Likes

I see our probe has hit the Galactic Federation of Sentient Beings’ “Dangerously Un-evolved Life-form Containment Zone” border.

I for one humbly seek refugee status admittance!

I can offer to contribute to Galactic Culture uniquely monkey-based artistic expressions in the form of dub techno.

If you guys can arrange transport.

21 Likes

Anything for a friend of V’ger.

IMG_0064

16 Likes

The Voyagers are still my favorite ever NASA projects and maybe the best value for money. In college as a baby engineer I took orbital mechanics from Gary Flandro. To say it was interesting would be an understatement. (I just looked at his Wiki and realized I’m a 12th generation pupil of Euler. Neat!)

15 Likes

Sheesh. And I thought some of our older patron computers were slow!

8 Likes

With how things have been going, I just might stop communicating with Earth, as well…

11 Likes

Whenever these probes do finally go offline, I would love to see their obits compared to living stories of people and maybe animals who were born in the same year, comparing their journeys to those of these amazing and inspiring space probes over the same time.
I “launched” into the world a year earlier than the Voyager, and am happy of my life’s journey, but I’d still love to see the comparison.
What a thing we humans hath wrought!

13 Likes

cool. i suppose my own “blast off” was a little over a year after Alan Shepard did his first American orbit of our blue marble.