Not robots: youth unemployment caused by late retirement, driven by pension precarity

[Read the post]

1 Like

"But when we increase the supply of labor, in the aggregate—by shoving more old people into the workforce—we lower the demand for labor, in the aggregate"
I’m an economist and that quote is nonsense.

Supply and demand can be visualised as curves that cross at some point, and that crossng point is the market outcome. Now if we add old people to the supply of labor this pushes the labor supply curve up, but the labor demand curve stays the same.
What changes is the location of where the curves cross (the market outcome), NOT the labor demand.
There’s also absolutely no reason to mention “the aggregate” here, since “supply of labor” and “demand for labor” are aggregates already, so it’s obvious that teh whole quote is about aggregate metrics.

8 Likes

Decades ago you could retire, live comfortably on a generous, defined benefit pension and then die a few years later while, in the meantime, a youngster took up your vacated job.

Arguably, defined benefit pensions became unaffordable as people began living longer in retirement. I think that it might be the case that people have to work longer simply because they’re living longer regardless of how you structure their pensions.

Thus it may simply be the case that increased youth unemployment is a natural consequence of not much more than increased life expectancy.

(There could, conceivably, still be a place for defined benefit pensions but they might have to be structured on a lower level of benefit and/or a later retirement; the latter would still affect youth employment and the former would affect old age poverty…who are you willing to hurt the most? :frowning: )

Rates of workplace retention for older workers are raising all over the OECD. Certainly they are here in NZ and our pension system hasn’t undergone cuts. I’m not convinced.

1 Like