NSA recording all the voice calls in one country; 5-6 more countries in the pipeline

[Permalink]

UK.

Been known that is happening.

Is the UK the number one hotbed of terrorism? How soon until we find out that this is also widespread in the US?

I’m more interested in the method the use. Don’t they need some sort of hardware access for phone calls made only inside a country? I’m no tech expert but I do understand that internet traffic is rerouted multiple times often through foreign hubs even if the websites server is located inside the same country. Is the same true for phone calls? If an irish citizen is calling another irish citizen via landline how is it possible to intercept the communication ( especially in large volumes) without access to in-country telecommunication infrastructure?

2 Likes

The method they use doesn’t matter; the fact is, they do it.

1 Like

Because it would be interesting to know if my government is colluding with the US by providing access or if foreign telecommunication providers operating in my country (Vodafone) are providing assistance.

2 Likes

I’m not a telco expert; but my understanding is that phone traffic (while architecturally pretty much packet-switched VOIP-esque stuff at this point, line-switched is Dead except at a few points at the margins) doesn’t slosh around quite as much as internet traffic because it’s all quite latency sensitive, and because (even more so historically, and into the present) much of the traffic was essentially internal, subscribers of the same monopoly telco chatting with each other, so telco capacity was built much more around accommodating local traffic with limited volumes of international calls.

I have no reason to suspect that anything actively prevents an international hop on a domestic call; but would suspect that they are less routine than with internet traffic.