Oglala Lakota Sioux to South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem: You are not welcome at Pine Ridge Reservation

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/05/03/oglala-lakota-sioux-to-south-d.html

11 Likes

If the indigenous nations of North America did have a competition for “who was treated the worst”, the Olglala Lakota Sioux would have a pretty good claim. There was a fantastic article in The Atlantic by Ian Frazier, extracted from his book, “On the Rez” about 20 years back, still online:

I’m actually a Keystone “supporter” in the very limited sense that I think we have to continue using the tools of the existing world (fossil fuels) to build the next world, because the tools of the next world don’t exist. Less poetically, I’m an engineer that can see the economic consequences of trying to spend trillions on a new grid, new ways to generate multiple terawatts, new transportation infrastructure, all while restricting our resources to do it with. They would be bad.

Also, in the sense that there are about 20 pipelines now, and 21 is less than 5% worse. Like so much environmentalism, this is about symbol and not substance. I think the substance is to stop using the stuff. (People who fly to protests when the bus would use 20% of the carbon at the cost of some hours of their time, drive me crazy.)

But all that is beside the point, here. This is a NIMBY problem, where the backyard in question isn’t the same as other backyards, because of history, and no little law. (That the agreements have been endlessly broken makes the law more important to observe, not less).

When you look at the sheer size of the project, the number of miles:

…deking around these lands is a blip, not worth arguing about. Yes, the oil companies treat every little million like their Sacred Lands, but viewed in percentage terms, it’s not worth the ink spent upon it.

2 Likes

API is modeling between 1-1.3 trillion in new investment in oil and gas infrastructure by 2035 (just in the US.)